Whidbey Island Art Camp

What a delight to be on Whidbey Island!  I’m attending an oil painting workshop taught by an amazing artist, Carol Marine.  Today was day one of my 5 days at art camp – I am so happy!  First of all, the location is pristine.  The area reminds me a bit, of rural Vermont, yet with taller pine trees.  The workshop is thus far very informative and loads of fun.  We started the day with a way-cool demo painting from Carol, who painted a still life of several red apples and a golden yellow bowl.  Carol is a daily painter who has achieved great success.  She’s been painting daily for over 3 years and teaches workshops across the U.S.  Her workshops fill up in a blink and attending one of them has been a ginormous aspiration in my life; so you can imagine, I feel rather fulfilled.   This afternoon we  launched into our own paintings with critique and tips from Carol as she made the rounds.  Here is what I painted today:

Bowls and Purple Onion, Original Oil Painting, 6 x 6

And, I thought you might enjoy seeing my actual still life set-up:

4 thoughts on “Whidbey Island Art Camp

  1. Chella

    It is amazing to me that you can take a very ordinary photograph and turn it into a beautiful, complex, colorful, dimensional work of art. I love you!

    Reply
    1. Bridget Post author

      The photograph is of the actual set-up that I used to paint from. I did not paint from the photo.
      Thanks for your comment sweet Chella – I love you too!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

